Main page Previous years DOTY 2011 DOTY 2012 DOTY 2014 DOTY 2015 DOTY 2016 Alumni Prizes How to enter Rules Sponsors Equipment
Home About us Magazine Join us Dessert Of The Year Annual Dinner Sponsors News Contact us
The Association of Pastry Chefs Est 1993 by pastry chefs, for pastry chefs.
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share via e-mail Print
Join the  APC

© Association of  Pastry Chefs 2013

Privacy statement

Got a question?

All queries should be submitted to the following email address

Please note we are not able to accept entries at this email address.

2014 - The year DOTY joined Hotelympia!!

We are proud that in 2014  The Association of Pastry Chefs Dessert Of The Year competition was held at The Salon Culinaire Live Theatre of Hotelympia on 30th April 2014!!!

And the winner was……

Gold Medal & best in class

Benoit Jabouille

Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa

Apple crisp with fresh Asian flavours

Hazlenut crispy base, apple marmalade, spiced apple foam, blown sugar filled with spiced apple sorbet, apple espuma, fresh apples and gilded hazlenuts.


2nd place: Gold Medal - Joakim Prat, Greenhouse Restaurant
Joint 3rd place: Bronze Medal - Melissa Paul, William Curley
Joint 3rd place: Bronze Medal - Gerard Chouet, Restaurant Andrew Fairlie
Merit - Biju Joshwa, Marriott Hotel County Hall

Congratulations to all the other finalists!

What is Dessert of the year?
All entrants must submit designs for an original plated dessert for fine dining service before the closing date. For  the first time, all designs had to include an ingredient from Callebaut and serviceware from Continental Chef Supplies’s FIGGJO range. Finalists were required to attend at Hotelympia 2014 to prepare 2 portions of their dessert from scratch within 1 hour 45 mins.

Key dates!

We were listed as  class LT15 in the live theatre schedule.

Changes in 2014

As previously communicated during the application process, moving to The Salon Culinaire prompted us to make some changes to the rules

New time allowance - The competition is only 1hr 45mins long. Finalists will be penalised for over-running.

Mis-en-place allowance changed - See the rules for allowable preparation.

Only 2 plates required to be presented (not 4 as previous years)

Competitors to supply all raws.

Finalists will be contacted by the APC regarding product samples once letters have been sent out by the Salon organisers.

Competitors must use an item from each sponsor

How did you do the paper judging?

All entries are evaluated completely blind - we only see the description and image of each dessert. AT NO POINT do the judging committee see the applicant’s names until all finalists have been chosen.

Who judged the final?

The APC selects all judges for the Dessert Of The Year final, the 2014 judges were….

Who were the finalists?

The 10 finalists for DOTY 2014 are……..

Benoit Jabouille, Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa.

Sam Pugh, Sam Joseph

Biju Joshwa, Marriott Hotel County Hall

Knut Harald Sordal, Norway.

Zac Dearden, Design House Restaurant

Xavier Torne, Simon Rogan at Claridge’s

Gerard Chouet, Restaurant Andrew Fairlie

Melissa Paul, William Curley

Chris Hurter, Sixtyone Restaurant

Joakim Prat, Greenhouse Restaurant

APC Members paid no application charge!

Any APC member will have their DOTY entry fee paid for by the APC - Just write your membership number in the payment details area.

This is a good way to get free entry to the competition!

Looking at it another way, you can get your APC member ship for almost half price- or  just £2 if you are a junior member!!!

If you chose to join the APC at any time before the competition closing date we will be able to honour this deal.