Main page Previous years DOTY 2011 DOTY 2012 DOTY 2014 DOTY 2015 DOTY 2016 Alumni Prizes How to enter Rules Sponsors Equipment
Home About us Magazine Join us Dessert Of The Year Annual Dinner Sponsors News Contact us
The Association of Pastry Chefs Est 1993 by pastry chefs, for pastry chefs.
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share via e-mail Print
Join the  APC

© Association of  Pastry Chefs 2013

Privacy statement

Got a question?

All queries should be submitted to the following email address

Please note we are not able to accept entries at this email address.

News - Dessert of the year 2016

Won by Alexis Lee of the Dorchester Hotel


All photography by Martin Chiffers©

The 2016 Association of Pastry Chefs Dessert Of The Year competition was held at The Salon Culinaire Live Theatre of Hotelympia 2016!!!  

What is Dessert of the year?
All entrants must submit designs for an original plated dessert for fine dining service before the closing date. As is the case since 2014, all designs include an ingredient from Callebaut and serviceware from Continental Chef Supplies. Finalists were required to attend at The Hospitality Show to prepare 2 portions of their dessert from scratch within 1 hour 45 mins. See our “How to enter” page for full details

This was the 23rd Dessert of the year competition! Many of the biggest names in the business have competed with us. Previous winners include Nick Patterson, William Curley, Cherish Finden, and Ross Sneddon to name a few! See our “Alumni” page for the full list.

Dessert of the year 2016 winner

Alexis Lee with The Nadell Trophy

Dessert of the year 2016

Won by Alexis Lee, of The Dorchester Hotel..

Dessert Name - Mango Lemon Thyme, Kaffir Lime & Dark Chocolate'

Mango lemon thyme bavarois, mille feuile of chocolate, flourless chocolate sponge, rice praline crunch with hint of fleur de sel and dark chocolate, kaffir lime ganache piped, diced mango, tempered chocolate, Raspberry sauce, Quenelle of banana, coconut and lime sorbet, sugar swirl decoration.

Photography by Martin Chiffers©